New 2020 MCAT Dates

MCAT Canceled? New Dates Have Been Added!

medschoolcoach

It’s not all bad news in the world of medicine! Though all MCAT test dates through April 16th have been canceled, the AAMC have added six new dates starting in June. The AAMC also stated that they might expedite MCAT scores so that students are not disadvantaged by the later exam dates.

4/24/20 Update:

  • AAMC is now offering three test appointments per day on all administration dates from May 29 to September 28, 2020. Standard start times will be 6:30AM, 12:15PM, and 6:00PM each day. There may be some variations by test center.
  • The exam will be 5:45 hours instead of the usual 7:30 hours during those dates.
  • Exam scoring range will not change.
  • More information about start times, including start times for examinees who currently have 8:00 a.m. appointments, will be provided prior to registration opening.

Below is the current MCAT schedule with the newly added dates highlighted in yellow:

The 2020 MCAT test dates & their corresponding score release dates have been published! For more information, visit aamc.org/mcat
2020 MCAT Test Date Score Release Date
Friday, January 17, 2020 Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Saturday, January 18, 2020 Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Saturday, March 14, 2020 Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020 (CANCELED) Friday, May 1, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020 (CANCELED) Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020 (CANCELED) Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020 (CANCELED) Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Saturday, May 9, 2020 (CANCELED) Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020 (CANCELED) Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Saturday, May 16, 2020 (CANCELED) Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020 (CANCELED) Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020 Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020 Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020 Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020 Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Saturday, June 27, 2020 Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Sunday, June 28, 2020 (NEW)
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Thursday, August 6, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020 Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020 Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020 Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020 Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020 Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020 Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020 Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020 Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020 Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Saturday, September 12, 2020 Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Sunday, September 27, 2020 (NEW)
Monday, September 28, 2020 (NEW)
If your test date was canceled and your access to the AAMC Practice materials was going to expire, the AAMC is going to access extend your access to 9/30/2020. All students with MCAT test dates through May 2020 can also reschedule their MCAT exams for free.

You can register for the 2020 MCAT via aamc.org/MCAT, but you will want to make sure you are registering early. MCAT dates fill up fast and unlike other exams, it is not offered year round. 

Registration for the MCAT is split into two different phases. In October of any given year, students can register for tests that are administered from Jan through May. In February, June through September test dates open for registration. You will want to register early to get a testing center near you!

Nope. You can only register for 1 date at a time per AAMC rules. You will not be able to register for more than one test day until you release your registration.

MCAT scores are release about a month after test date. You should take this into account when registering for the MCAT, as there is a point where it may not make sense to apply any longer that cycle. Check out When is the Latest I Should Take My MCAT for more information. 

MCAT scores are released at 5 pm EST on the score release date.

Recent Blog Posts

View All Posts
How to Stand Out as a Pre-Med

How Can a Pre-Med Standout? We Ask Dr. Butty

We sat down with Dr. Davietta Butty and discussed her life in medicine and what advice she has for prospective[...]

calendar-icon November 1, 2016

How to Prepare for a BS/MD or Direct Medical Program – Advice for 8th and 9th Graders from a BS/MD Expert

[caption id="attachment_7585" align="alignleft" width="300"] Bubble style test form[/caption] One of the best ways to set yourself up for success with[...]

calendar-icon August 21, 2016
Online USMLE Step 2 CS

Virtual USMLE Step 2 CS Exam: How to Pass If It’s Online

Since Step 2 CS has been suspended until at least August 2020, the NBME teased that they are aggressively exploring[...]

calendar-icon May 22, 2020

Guidebooks

View all guidebooks
The Pre-Med Journey

The Pre-Med Journey: What it Takes to Get into Medical School

Thinking about applying to medical school? Discover what high school students need to know about obtaining a career in medicine.

Download
Successfully Planning for the USMLE Step 1 and 2 CK

Successfully Planning for the USMLE Step 1 and 2 CK

Get ready for the USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 with this free guide to study planning and resource utilization.

Download
100 MCAT Study Tips

100 MCAT Study Tips

Taking the MCAT? These 100 tips and tricks will help you ace the MCAT.

Download